Digital/Online Marketing Communications Strategy

Webby Award Winners 2014

By on April 29, 2014 in web design with 0 Comments

Logo for The Webby AwardsThe Webby Awards just announced its 2014 winners. If you want to see real excellence in web design, you’ll want to be sure to check out the Webby Awards Gallery Archive.

These prestigious annual awards are sponsored by The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences (IADAS), and honorees hail from many industries such as entertainment, business, non-profit, education, fashion & beauty, social, gaming and more.

The 2014 winners were selected from a whopping 12,000 entries received from more than 60 countries worldwide; so these really are the crème de la crème.

Who picks the winners?

Among this  year’s Webby judges are Tumblr founder David Karp, Arianna Huffington of Huffington Post fame, House of Cards producers Kevin Spacey and Dana Brunetti of Trigger Street Productions, plus regular ol’ web professionals, like me (yes, I am a Webby Awards judge).

I  always look forward to the judging season. It’s inspiring to see the fabulous creativity of the nominees and it’s a great way to get a broad view of current and emerging web trends.

For our official judging process, we vote based on a variety of criteria: content, structure and navigation, visual design, functionality, interactivity, overall experience, quality of craft, integration, creativity, concept & writing, and engagement. This includes making choices based on our intangible impressions of whether a site or app offers an experience that causes visitors to want to stay or leave.

Along with the formal judging process, the online public gets to chime in for the People’s Voice Awards.

 Winning sites that caught my eye

There are many great sites on view at the Webby Awards Gallery. Here are just a few that caught my attention:

Best Home/Welcome Page

sagmeister & walsh homepage imageSagmeister & Walsh

Best User Experience

Image of homepage for Medium.comMedium

Best Visual Design — Aesthetic

image of homepage for Squarespace.comSquarespace

 Blog — Cultural

image of homepage for nowness.comNowness


image of homepage for MarioBatali.comMario Batali

City & Urban Innovation

image for homepage of colorpluscity.comColor+City

Food & Drink

image of homepage for maxbrenner.comMax Brenner


image of homepage for funnyordie.comFunny or Die


image of homepage for

Flat Design vs. Realism

Best Visual Design –Function

image of homepage for

Urban Ears

There’s plenty more sites to see

Those are a few choice picks. Check out the Webby Awards Gallery to see the full slate of winners. It’s an impressive array that’s a tremendous resource for creative inspiration.

You may also want to watch an on-demand broadcast of the awards ceremony, available starting Tuesday, May 20, 9 p.m. Eastern Standard Time.

Actor and comedian Patton Oswalt is this year’s host, and on top of the website honors, there are Special Achievement Awards that “celebrate the distinguished work of individuals who demonstrate exemplary commitment to digital innovation,” where winners are: Lawrence Lessig, Kickstarter, De La Soul, Freddie Wong, and The Jamacian Bobsled Team.

For more details visit The Webby Awards website.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

About the Author: Deni Kasrel is seasoned (slightly spicy) specialist in digital/online communications. .


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *